Jump to Navigation

DWI / DUI Penalties

Chattanooga, Tennessee, DWI / DUI Criminal Defense Lawyers

State of Tennessee DWI / DUI Penalties as of July 1, 2003

1st Offense DWI / DUI w/in 10 Years2nd Offense DWI / DUI.w/in 10 Years3rd Offense DWI / DUIw/in 10 Years4th Offense DWI / DUIw/in 10 Years
Offense ClassClass A MisdemeanorClass A MisdemeanorClass A MisdemeanorClass E Felony
Minimum Jail Time48 hrs unless BAC .20% or greater, then 7 days45 days day-for-day at 100%120 days day-for-day at 100%150 days day-for-day at 100%
Maximum Jail Time11 months-29 days11 months-29 days11 months-29 days6 years
Fine-Min/Max$450-$1,500$700-$3,500$1,200-$10,000$3,100-$15,000
License Revocation Period1 year2 years3-10 years5 years
Restricted LicenseYesYes * 4NoNo
Presumptive Blood Alcohol Level0.08%0.08%0.08%0.08%
Probation Period11 months, 29 days11 months, 29 days11 months, 29 days1 to 6 yrs
Alcohol School or Alcohol Assessment / TreatmentSchoolAssessment / TreatmentAssessment / TreatmentAssessment / Treatment
Vehicle Subject to Seizure upon ArrestNoYes * 2Yes * 2Yes * 2
Jail Credit for Inpatient TreatmentNoneUp to 28 daysNoneNone

NOTES:

1.)For enhancement purposes, the time period could be greater than 10 years but in no event greater than 20 years. Out-of-State convictions may be used to enhance.
2.)Vehicles used in commission of a subsequent DWI / DUI violation are subject to seizure upon arrest, but the triggering first offense conviction must have occurred on or after Jan.1, 1997, and the second or subsequent arrest within five years of the triggering conviction.
3.)For the felony provisions to apply, at least one violation must have occurred after July 1, 1998.
4.)A restricted license may be obtained after one year of the two year revocation period. However, SR-22 insurance and an ignition interlock device must be obtained.